Compact Nursing License States

Compact Nursing License States

The Nurse Licensure Compact is a voluntary interstate agreement that allows nurses to practice in member states without having to pass separate examinations. The compact was created in response to the lack of standardized licensure requirements among states and other barriers to nurses practicing across state lines. To date, there are 22 member states: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, District of Columbia*, Georgia*, Hawaii, Idaho*, Illinois** Maine** Massachusetts** Michigan** Minnesota** Montana* Nevada* New Hampshire* New Jersey*** New Mexico*** North Dakota*** Oregon*** South Carolina*** Utah*** Wyoming

Nurse Licensure Compact States

The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) is a legally binding agreement between two or more states to honor each others’ nursing licenses and exemptions. NLC allows nurses to maintain their licenses in one state and apply for licensure in another state with less administrative burden than if they were applying from scratch. Nurses who have been granted an initial license by their home-state can then apply for an additional compact-participating license to work as an RN in other compact member states without having to undergo another application process.

The NLC began on December 12th, 2008 with four signatories: Idaho, Montana, New Hampshire and Wyoming. Since then it has grown to include 23 member states: Alabama; Alaska; Arizona; Arkansas; Colorado; Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Jersey New Mexico North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

State License Renewal Process

Depending on the state, you will have to renew your license every year or every 2 years.

The renewal time for most states is between 60 and 90 days before the expiration date of your current license.

The cost to renew varies by state but can range from $50-$200 or more depending on your initial licensing fee and any additional fees that may be charged as a result of any disciplinary actions taken against you during the previous licensure period.

There are also some requirements that must be met in order to renew your compact nursing license:

Compact Nursing License States

  • License renewal: All Compact States have a license renewal process. The renewal period is usually every two years.
  • Reciprocity: If you have an out-of-state license, the state you reside or work in will do their best to determine if your nursing license from another state is valid in their state. Most states recognize another state’s nursing license as long as it has not been revoked or suspended in any way.
  • Nursing Competency Evaluation Requirement for Out-of-State Nurses: Each compact state has its own rules regarding how often out of state nurses must be evaluated by local standards, but there are some common requirements that apply across all compact states such as having at least one year of experience and passing a criminal background check.

With the Nurse Licensure Compact States, nurses have more flexibility when it comes to licensure. Nurses are able to practice in multiple states without having to get a separate license for each one. This saves time and money, while also making it easier for nurses who move frequently or travel internationally. However, not all states are part of this agreement so be sure you know what they are before deciding where your next job will take place!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like