Nursing Trauma Certification

Nursing Trauma Certification

A nursing trauma certification is an important step in your career as a nurse. This certification will help you advance your career and prove that you have the skills to work in the emergency department or other settings where traumatic injuries are common.

What is nursing trauma certification?

Trauma certification is a credential that is awarded to nurses who have completed a trauma course. It shows that you have the knowledge and skills to care for trauma patients.

Trauma certification is also an opportunity to show your commitment to learning more about trauma care. By completing this course, you can know that you have been prepared with the tools necessary to deal with life-threatening injuries in the future.

The CEN credential

The CEN credential is an international certification that’s recognized by the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT), the American College of Surgeons (ACS), and the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP). The CEN certification process involves a written exam, a clinical skills evaluation, and a practical skills assessment.

The TCRN credential

The TCRN certification is for nurses who work in trauma centers and emergency rooms. The TCRN credential is also for nurses who work in hospital trauma units.

The SANE-A credential is for nurses who perform sexual assault exams on patients that are involved in sexual assaults. A nurse with this certification may collect evidence from the victim, provide medical treatment to the victim and collect DNA samples from the victim.

Benefits of this certification

Trauma certifications are attainable with hard work and practice. Once you earn your certification, you can use it to advance your career and get a job that pays more money.

Step-by-Step Guide to Earning Your Trauma Nursing Certification

  • Step 1: Determine your eligibility and apply.
  • Step 2: Take the required courses and earn a bachelor’s or master’s degree in nursing (BSN or MSN).
  • Step 3: Earn your BSN or MSN in a regionally accredited college of nursing that is affiliated with one of the following credentialing bodies: AACN, ANCC, NCCPA or NLNAC.
  • Step 4: Pass one of two certifying exams for trauma nurses within 36 months from completion of your initial coursework.

Step 1: Determine Which Certification Is Right for You

There are two different certifications that you can earn through the Colorado Health and Wellness Institute: Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN) and Trauma Certified Registered Nurse (TCRN). TCRN is a post-master’s certificate that prepares nurses for the trauma care setting, whereas CEN is an undergraduate certificate.

The CEN curriculum focuses on adult health and life support. However, it also covers child birth, basic pediatric care, geriatric care, acute health emergencies such as strokes or heart attacks, prehospital trauma management and more. The goal of this program is to teach students how to provide initial assessment until more advanced medical professionals arrive at the scene of an emergency situation.

TCRN covers similar topics but delves deeper into specific areas such as various types of wounds; burns; bites; gunshot wounds; blunt force trauma injuries; amputations etc… It also covers additional information regarding management of internal bleeding using tourniquets as well as best practices after patient transport has occurred (elevate feet/keep warm). In addition there are other sections dedicated towards long distance travel where proper techniques must be used when transporting patients via air ambulance service or helicopter due their specialized equipment needs for safe travel within these aircrafts themselves.”

Step 2: Meet the Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible to take the CCRN exam, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be a registered nurse.
  • Hold a current, valid license to practice nursing in the state where you want to take the exam.
  • Be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident and eligible for licensure in that same state (for example, if you’re planning on taking your exam in Pennsylvania but aren’t yet licensed there).

Step 3: Prepare for the Exam

Study the material

Review the syllabus in detail and choose an area to study. Review your notes, and make sure that you know all of the material. You should know it well enough to be able to give a talk about it in front of your class or colleagues.

Practice tests

Take at least one practice test before taking the official exam. This will give you an idea of how long it takes for you to complete each section, as well as how long it takes for you finish the entire exam (the actual exam is slightly longer than most practice exams). It’ll also help identify any areas where more study would be beneficial before taking the real test!

Step 4: Apply to Take the Exam (and Pay the Fee)

  • Apply to Take the Exam (and Pay the Fee)

After completing your study materials and passing all four courses, it’s time to apply for an exam date. You’ll need to pay a fee of $129 USD when you apply, but if you’re applying within 30 days of completing all four courses, they may waive this fee—just ask! You may also be eligible for other discounts if you’re a member of certain organizations or if you’re willing to take exams at alternative locations outside your home country.

The application process itself is straightforward: just fill out some basic information about yourself and where you’d like to take the test (or whether there are any special accommodations needed), submit an application form, then wait for confirmation that your enrollment has been processed by Pearson VUE!

Once all those steps have been completed successfully (and assuming everything goes well), then congratulations! Your nursing trauma certification is officially in hand!

Step 5. Take and Pass the Exam

The exam is computer-based and administered by Pearson VUE at their testing centers. It is a proctored exam, meaning that you must take the test in person at a Pearson VUE testing center. You will be required to present valid ID to take the exam (you may use your nursing license). Once you have completed the exam, you will receive immediate results indicating whether or not you passed the examination.

Step 6. Maintain Your Certification by Renewing It Every Few Years

Once you’ve been certified, you must renew your certification every few years. To renew, visit the TCRN website and log in using your user ID and password. Once logged in, simply click on “Renew Your Certification” at the top of the page. You’ll be prompted to enter payment information and submit payment before continuing with renewal (you can pay by credit card or check).

Once you’ve paid your renewal fee of $100 USD, a confirmation message will appear stating that your certification has been renewed successfully!

Trauma certifications are attainable with hard work and practice.

  • The certification process is a lot of work.
  • You need to study and practice.
  • You need to be motivated.
  • You need to be willing to take the exam.
  • You should also be willing to pay the fee (which can vary depending on your state), which can range between $100-$300

The trauma nursing certifications are among the most sought-after in the industry and will open up doors for you that you never imagined. Completing this program can be a great benefit to your career, as well as bring personal fulfillment and satisfaction. We hope that this article has helped clear up any confusion about what it takes to earn these credentials! If you have any questions or concerns, please let us know in the comments section below or send us an email at [email protected] .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like