Renew Nursing License In Texas
Renew Nursing License In Texas
To renew your nursing license in Texas, the first thing you have to do is make sure that it’s even expired in the first place. This might seem like an obvious step, but many people are surprised when they find out that their license hasn’t actually expired yet. The Texas Board of Nursing (BON) will send you a letter about 18 months before your license expires, which gives you plenty of time to prepare for renewal. If this doesn’t happen or if your license has been expired for more than two years, then read on!
License Renewal Due Dates
You must renew your nursing license every two years. The due date is two years from the date of issuance of your current license. If you fail to renew by the due date, you will need to take the NCLEX exam again and pay all applicable fees before a renewal can be issued.
You may renew up to 90 days before the expiration of your current credential (i.e., one year early). However, if you wait longer than 90 days past its expiration date, then you will need to apply for a new license through the Board’s office in Austin or any other location that has an on-site staff member available for assistance with this process..
License Renewal Notification
By law, the Texas Board of Nursing is required to notify you when your license renewal is coming up. You will receive a renewal notification in one of several ways:
- Text Message
- Phone Call (only if you have given them permission)
You can also check your profile on their website and see how long you have until your next renewal date.
Verify Current Nurse License Status
To verify the current status of your nursing license, you can use the Texas Board of Nursing’s online verification system. This is a quick and easy way to check if your current license is expired or if it has been suspended or revoked.
You can also call the board directly at 1-800-252-9240 (toll free) or 512-305-7400 (Austin), Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM CST.
How to Renew a Texas RN or LVN License
Renewing your Texas RN or LVN license is easy. Follow these steps to renew online:
- Go to the BON website and click on “Renew.”
- Enter your license number and the last four digits of your social security number.
- Click “renew” when you’re ready to proceed with payment of fees. The renewal fee for a nurse’s license is $68, subject to change without notice by statute, rule or regulation from time to time.
How Do I Renew My Lapsed Texas Nursing License?
If you have a lapsed nursing license, it’s important to know that this means you will need to reapply for your license. If you do so before the expiration date of your current nursing license, the new one is considered an extension of the old one and does not require additional application fee or assessment costs.
The process is fairly simple: complete an application form and provide proof of completion of required continuing education hours (if applicable). You can submit your renewal application online or by mail. If submitting through mail, include payment with check or money order in US dollars made out to “Texas Board of Nursing”. You will then receive confirmation that all materials were received by BON upon receipt at their office.
Nursing Continuing Education Requirements for Texas RNs and LVNs
The Texas Board of Nursing requires RNs and LVNs to complete 30 hours of continuing education every two years. Most nurses choose to fulfill this requirement with a combination of online courses, in-person courses, or both. However, you are not limited to only one type of course! You can take any combination of the two types and/or complete them in any order throughout your required time period.
The TBN also does not require you to complete all 30 hours at once; it’s completely up to you how many hours you want to take at once and how often you’d like to do so (i.e., if your license expires on October 1st, 2020 and your first renewal period begins on January 1st 2021). As long as all requirements are met by October 1st 2022 (i.e., before their next expiration date), everything should be fine!
Updating Your Nursing License After Name or Address Change in Texas
If you have changed your name and/or address from the previous renewal period, or if you are changing gender on your license, submit an Application for Duplicate or Name Change. If you have only changed your address, then complete the Change of Address Form and mail it to:
Texas State Board of Nursing
300 West 15th Street, Suite 100
Austin, Texas 78701-2321
The SBNO can also be reached by phone at 512-305-7500. Callers will be asked to provide their social security number and date of birth before being transferred to a representative who can help them with their request.
Out-of-State RNs and LVNs Moving to Texas
- If you have a license from another state, and are moving to Texas, you need to change your license.
- New Nurse License — If you’ve been out of nursing school for more than three years AND have not been licensed before, you must first take the NCLEX-RN or NCLEX-PN exam before applying for a new license.
- Name Change — In order to change your name on your Texas RN or LVN license, complete the Application for Name Change (Form RN-35) and submit it with payment to: Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin TX 78714-9347 (or fax: 512/322-4476). The fee is $20 but only one copy needs to be submitted per request for name change; however if both an original AND duplicate are submitted together then two copies will require two payments totaling $40 ($20 x 2).
- Address Change — A completed Address Change Form (Form RN-35A) must be submitted along with payment via check or money order made payable to “Texas Department of State Health Services.” Payments should be sent directly to: Texas Department of State Health Services Attn: Vital Records Section Mail Code 7505 7201 Mountain Creek Parkway Austin TX 78757 Fax: 512/305-5247
You can renew your license online using your credit card.
You can renew your license online using your credit card. The renewal fees are $75 for RNs and $50 for LVNs. You can receive a 30-day temporary permit at no cost if you have not yet received your permanent Texas nursing license within 90 days of completing requirements. There is an additional $25 fee if you are 65 or older and request the temporary permit to cover processing time before issuing a permanent license.
The renewal process is not difficult, but it does require that you be aware of the proper timing to do so. If you’re looking for more information about how to renew your license, contact your board and ask questions before trying anything on your own.